My First Me-Made-May!

I’m a little late to the start of the party, but hope to join in soon!

I first heard about Me-Made-May last year but not having a blog I didn’t actively participate.  When I saw that it was happening again this year, I was really excited to try and be part of it.  However, I had a teensy problem: this is supposed to be a challenge but 80%-90% of my wardrobe is already me-made.  People I know have basically stopped even asking if I made what I’m wearing assume that I did (and they’re almost always right in doing so).  Me-Made-May isn’t supposed to just be about showing off all one’s makes, but challenging oneself in some way.  I’m also in a situation of having to be really strategic with my sewing right now considering the time constraints I have between currently curating a fashion exhibit and (supposedly) writing my PhD thesis.  Initially I thought to imitate Tilly from Tilly & the Buttons’ pledge (it is the sincerest form of flattery, right?) to be more conscious of one’s clothes and clothing needs but I wasn’t totally sure that was right for me either.  So it’s been stewing away in the back of my mind while carving (and re-carving, ugh) foam discs into mannequins this week for my exhibit and while strolling through other people’s awesome starts to MMM.  I’m really happy to say that just a few minutes ago I figured out my pledge!  It’s actually inspired by my finding out about May also being Indie Pattern Month – and I just found out right now, while looking for a link about it to slip in here that there are not one, but two (at least?) big online events for it via Modern Vintage Cupcakes and Seamster Patterns.

I’m going to do a mash-up of MMM’14 + Indie Pattern Month.

So, here’s my pledge:

‘I, Carolyn of themodernmantuamaker.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavour to wear a garment made from an Indie pattern at least once per week and sew only from Indie patterns for the duration of May 2014′.

My wardrobe is a real hodge-podge of makes from Big 4 commercial patterns, some Indie ones, and a lot of either franken-patterning or my own designs.  So it will be a bit of a challenge to make sure I wear something made with an Indie pattern at least once/week.  As for new garments, I probably won’t have time to make much, but am really looking forward to focusing on using the Indie patterns I’ve been collecting over the past couple of years.  Here’s hoping I come out of the month having finally made an Elisalex dress!

I am going to give myself one caveat/pass.  I’m currently in the process of making a dress for my Canadian Spring Wardrobe – one of only two additions I’ve been able to make this year.  It’s a rip-off of this modcloth dress:

Night Brunch Dress in Fern | Mod Retro Vintage Dresses | ModCloth.com

using this OOP Vogue pattern (the bodice) as a starting base:

V1026

I’m using the pale robin’s egg blue wool blend that I intended to use for the Ralph Rucci pattern I showed in my Canadian Spring Wardrobe post.  However, after some helpful comments from Carolyn I decided something like a stretch cotton sateen or poplin would be a better choice for it.  And I really love that modcloth dress design, it’s so typically me, lol.

Since the whole point of making this dress is to wear just about now and I’d already started it, it would be a waste to put it aside and let it become a UFO until at least next year.  So this is my one pass. I  actually finished it today and intended to take picture of it tomorrow but guess what?  The zipper broke on me when I went to try it on after finishing!  Another reason I’ve nearly sworn off invisible zips – which is funny since I raved about them when I first discovered them years and years ago.  I know it’s not that the dress is too tight, but that the bulk at the back waist, with the seams for the contrast band, were too much for it.  So, I shall need to find another zipper and replace it.  Hopefully I can get this done tomorrow so it really won’t end up a UFO purely out of my disappointment and frustration!

Anyway.

For my MMM’14 challenge I’m aiming to post once a week about the Indie makes I wore and share whatever new makes I’ve been able to start/complete.  I’m also going to count this week as my first week of the challenge.  I do hope it starts getting noticeably warmer soon – I think most of my Indie pattern makes are more summer oriented….this could be an interesting month, sartorially speaking.

 

2 thoughts on “My First Me-Made-May!

Leave a Reply

